Escaping the City Heights: Adventures in Mountain Climbing and Hiking

I should have posted this entry last year, but I’ve been so tired and focused on other stuff that I didn’t find time to share this after another milestone experience as a person who love an adventure.

To start with, whether or not you want to know, my life is going pretty well right now, even though it has been 9 months since we last had a major climb. I am in a better state than I was last year and in the years prior. I am doing just fine, and most importantly, I am happy.

“You are my sunrise on the darkest day.
“You are my greatest adventure.” — The Incredibles

I decided to write this because I find myself longing for the joy of hiking, which has changed over time. Climbing mountains has always been my go-to stress reliever, alongside indulging in the serenity of the beach and savoring a cup of coffee. It serves as my escape from the bustling city life, work-related challenges, and the responsibilities that await me at home.

My journey into climbing and hiking began in 2016, and since then, it has become an integral part of my life. Last summer, I embarked on an adventure to conquer Mt.Pulag and explored two other magnificent mountains in Luzon. Those experiences brought me a sense of fulfillment and created lasting memories.

The start of our journey to 3-2-1 Luzon

The first peak we climbed was Mt. Timbak. To get there from Baguio, we rented a large truck. The road leading to the jump-off point is quite narrow and only allows one-way traffic. There are also several steep sections along the route, and Halsema Highway, in particular, is known for its sharp curves. From the jump-off point, it takes about 20 to 30 minutes to trek to the summit. Mt. Timbak is an easily accessible peak and the third highest in Luzon. At the summit, you’ll find three small crosses and an altar. From there, you can enjoy a vantage point with stunning views of the majestic rice terraces of Benguet, as well as Mount Tabayoc and Mount Pulag.

The summit of Mt.Timbak has 3 crossed and an altar
Glimpse of Halsema road and the green fields

After Mt.Timbak we headed to Ballay. It took us more than two to three hours to reach Ballay via rented jeepney. In fairness, the road all the way to Kabayan is already paved; but still it’s a long and winding road.

Mt.Tabayoc is the 2nd highest mountain in Luzon and the 7th highest peak in the Philippines, this mountains boasts a height of 2842 MASL.

Upon arrival, and briefly taking in all the majestic beauty of the lake, we registered at the Ballay Ranger Station, and then set up our tents by the lake

After taking our late lunch, we started to ascend around 1:00 pm. From the jump-off, it is a continuous assault. The trail within is protected by a thick, mossy forest. The trail is dubbed “monkey trail” because you need to hang on to vines, swing from one branch to another.It is well-preserved mountain with lush virgin forests.

The mossy forest

After two hours of trekking, we reached the summit. We were fast because we only carry with us a bottle of water and trail snacks. Sadly when we reached the summit it was covered with thick fog.

Bondpaper view
Reaching the summit 🙂

The peak was forested and view deck was created for climbers to observe the view from the top of Mt. Tabayoc.

The campsite

The next day we woke up early to prepare our breakfast and while my friends are cooking, some are packing their stuff for early break camp.

Early Breakcamp

We left Ballay around 7 am and headed to Akiki Rangers Station for registration and briefing. At the Station everyone is required to sign-up and provide their medical certificate.

Registration and briefing for Mt.Pulag climb -Akiki Rangers station

The seminar lasted for 30 minutes providing guidelines for Climbing Mt.Pulag. Mt Pulag is a National Park, the highest peak in Luzon and it is the 3rd highest mountain in the Philippines with an elevation of 2,922 mASL. There are three trails in climbing up the summit the Ambangeg, Akiki, and Vizcaya Trail.

The never ending ascend at Akiki trail

The Akiki trail is a challenging route to Mt. Pulag, dubbed as the “Killer Trail” by mountaineers because of its steep slopes and winding trails. Being considered as a ‘hardcore’ level climb, it is also a trek where you can experience the biodiversity of Mt. Pulag that you will encounter the pine forest, mossy forest, and grasslands as you hike to its summit.

We started our ascend around 10 am and the group plan to reach Eddet river around lunchtime so we can ascend at 1:30 pm and reach Marlboro at 3-4 pm.

Eddet River

We reached Eddet River around 12:45 pm, my friends rest for rehydration and eat our late lunch.We take our bath here and change our clothes.

Salute to our porter carrying more than 30 kilos of loads.

We rest for about 45 minutes and resume our hike. While crossing the Eddet River bridge, I look up at the seemingly never-ending pine forest trail and whisper to the wind “Lord give me enough strength to finish the climb”.

 This part of the ascend got my pace slower, my toes were sore and I was barely speaking because of the exhaustion haha. Sometimes I talk to the trees and to the stick Im carrying.
Malboro campsite

The exhausting four-hour hike ended that day at the Marlboro Campsite, a beautiful ridge on the mountainside.

Early morning at Marlboro Campsite
Getting ready for another day

At 8 am we started our ascend to reach the summit of Mt. Pulag by lunch time.I was a bit scared because my knee is in pain since yesterday. I made sure my knee pad was tight and I put some ointment (salonpas) to ease the sore. I silently prayed that the climb will be safe and sound.

Enjoying the pine trail
Never ending ascend
We reached a mossy mountain forest. Everything — the trees and the ground . It’s an eerie, alien-like place
Welcome to the grassland
We’re so close to the saddle and to the summit

Sadly we cannot camp at the saddle area it was not allowed by DENR ,after it was accidentally put on fire. To give way for the rehabilitation of the damaged areas, some parts of Mt.Pulag have been declared off-limits to visitors.

Baby boys on the go
Behind me is the saddle and its 30 minutes trek to the summit
Keep climbing ,keep the faith ,keep your faith

The word fit to describe the scenery in the Akiki trail is “rewarding.” We paused every now and then to marvel at nature, which is usually lacking in cities.

THE SUMMIT

Finally after the long and tiring trek I’m here at the summit safe and sound.I looked behind me as I was scrambling to a higher ground when the view got me speechless.I haven’t seen anything so beautiful and haunting at the same time.Now I know why it was called “The playground of the Gods”.

The boundary

After enjoying summit we headed to the camp 2 since we cannot pitch our tent at the SADDLE .When we arrived at the camp area and we decided to check the sunset and take pictures at the tower station.

It was cold already so I have to wear my fleece
Feeling like Im kdrama series
The air got really cold here so head back to camp area

In the morning, we woke up and had to endure the cold air. With headlamps on, we headed to the hills around 5:30 am going to tower station to witness the sunrise and hoping for the sea of clouds. To be honest I don’t have enough sleep, it was the coldest night in my entire life. I can’t breathe and struggling to find the most comfortable position and shivering now and then. Luckily my friends bring an extra sleeping bag and they were so kind as to let me use it.

Unfortunately, there was no dramatic sea of clouds but we were able to see all the mountains surrounding Mt. Pulag and beautiful sunrise.

“Heaven is a place on Earth with you.” — Lana Del Rey

Everyone took ample time taking photos around and my boyfriend does his duties. I’m enjoying the view and the mountain.

After all the photo ops, we started our descent, made more enjoyable by the beautiful view around us, back to camp to eat our breakfast and prepare our stuff.

When everyone was packed, we began breaking camp to prepare for the descent. By this time, the cold had become more tolerable due to the sun directly overhead. At around 8:00 AM, we commenced our descent via the Ambangeg Trail.

I am delighted that we all reached the summit and successfully completed the climb. Everyone is safe, and it’s now time to return home. I will always cherish the memories and experiences.

Until next time.

Hopefully next time we will witness the sea of clouds

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.